Close Menu
Zealous Legal Representation

Nationally recognized for his unparalleled commitment to justice in the legal profession.

Talented & Aggressive Trial Attorneys

We never take shortcuts, and treat you as we would a member of our own family!

Schedule A Confidential Case Analysis

We know that your future is on the line, and we understand the severity of what you are going through

Boston DUI Lawyer

Driving Under the Influence Charges Can Cost You. Call a Lawyer Today

If you have been arrested for drunk driving, you are undoubtedly facing serious penalties that could potentially jeopardize your career, freedom, privilege to drive, and relationships within your community. This is likely in part because every 10 years, roughly 1,300-1,400 people are killed by drunk drivers, according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), and, as such courts are rarely lenient on DUI charges. A driving under the influence (DUI) charge can land you in jail, revoke your driver’s license, and result in serious fines. The compassionate Boston DUI lawyers of Leontire & Associates, P.C. are here to help you fight these serious penalties. Call us today for assistance and to speak with an lawyer at no initial charge.

Boston Defense Strategies for Driving Under the Influence

There are a variety of ways that we defend our clients against DUI charges in Boston. We may contest the breathalyzer test, question the legality of the traffic stop or arrest, or challenge the officer’s sobriety test judgements. It is important to remember that nothing is set in stone, tests fail, and police officers make mistakes that could lead to all charges being dropped or dismissed.

Penalties for Boston DUI

According to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), the administrative and criminal penalties for a DUI charge in Massachusetts are as follows:

  • First Offense: 
  • Driver’s license suspension between 45 and 90 days (administrative);
  • License reinstatement fee of $50 to $1,200 (administrative);
  • Driver’s license suspension of one year (criminal);
  • Fine of $500 to $5,000 (criminal)
  • Up to two and a half years of jail time;
  • Potential mandatory alcohol education program.
  • Second Offense: 
  • Driver’s license suspension to be determined (administrative);
  • License reinstatement fee of $50 to $1,200 (administrative);
  • Mandatory installment of interlock ignition device (administrative);
  • Driver’s license suspension of two years (criminal);
  • Fine of $600 to $10,000 (criminal)
  • Jail time of 60 days to a maximum of two and a half years;
  • Potential mandatory alcohol education program.
  • Third Offense: 
  • Driver’s license suspension to be determined (administrative);
  • License reinstatement fee of $50 to $1,200 (administrative);
  • Mandatory installment of interlock ignition device (administrative);
  • Felony charge;
  • Driver’s license suspension of eight years (criminal);
  • Fine of $1,000 to $15,000 (criminal)
  • Jail time of 180 days to a maximum of two and a half years, or up to five years in prison;
  • Potential mandatory alcohol education program; and
  • Potential vehicle registration revocation. 

The fines, license revocation period, jail or prison time, and other penalties continue to increase with each additional DUI charge. Additionally, drivers under 21 years old will likely face additional educational program penalties.

Massachusetts Open Container Law

Massachusetts is one of many states that has an open container law. It illegal to drive with an open container of alcohol in the car, no matter if the driver or any passenger has had anything to drink. Fines for breaking this law range from $100 to $500.

Call a Boston DUI Defense Lawyer Today

We believe that you are innocent until proven guilty, and will do everything in our power to prove your innocence, have the charges dismissed, or have the penalties greatly reduced. Call a Boston DUI defense lawyer with Leontire & Associates, P.C. today for help with your case.

Share This Page:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Google Plus